How I use my Nikon D90 – Part 4 (Menu settings)

In this article, I will explain some of the menu settings and options that I use with my D90. To me, these below settings are the most useful settings in everyday shooting.

Picture Control: When I got my camera, the first thing that I did was to take a series of shots with the different picture controls available with the camera. In the end, I was able to narrow my choice to 2 of them; Vivid and Portrait – Portrait for people photographs and Vivid for everything else.

I was still not quite happy with the sharpening and saturation with those modes, so I decided to create 2 custom picture controls.

1.        Vivid +2 Saturation/+2 Sharpening

2.       Portrait +1 Saturation/+2 Sharpening.

So I use, the new custom Portrait control for people photography and the new custom Vivid control for everything else.  I don’t know about you, but this works for me – what’s good for me may not be good for you.  See what works for you.

Active D-Lighting: Auto. I still have questions on this, but I decided to let the camera figure this out.

Image review: OFF. If I have to review, I will use the play button to display the image. Auto preview is too annoying and a waste of time for me.

Assign AE-L/AF-L button: AE lock (hold). I can lock the focus by half pressing the shooting button, so I choose to set this button for auto exposure lock.

FUNC Button: In non-flash shooting, I use the function button to switch between auto focus area (AF- area) modes.  When I am using the flash, I use this as the FV lock.

Exposure delay mode: By default, the exposure delay mode is OFF. I turn this to ON, when I shoot with a tripod to further reduce the camera shake.

This concludes the series on D90. If you have more questions with your D90, please let me know; I will share what I know.

If you have a particular setting that you use with your D90 or other DSLR, please don’t hesitate to share it with me and the readers.

This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How I use my Nikon D90 – Part 4 (Menu settings)

  1. Roopak says:

    Another suggestion would be to download the PDF manual of your particular Camera. Then you can jump right to what you want to know about your camera using the search function to locate any info. ( i have PDF’s of all my gadgets under an user manual folder on my PC. Also, i sync up the same with my Sony ereader. So that i can read them while I am not at my PC)

  2. burstmode says:

    I am assuming that you use the Nikon software to post process. I usually leave my camera settings in default unless the white balance is strong (like shooting under a light bulb). It is easier for me to use Lightroom and make my adjustments there.

    • Burstmode,

      You are right, I use Capture NX2 for whatever processing I have to do on the pictures. Most of the modern cameras get the WB 95% of the time in default mode. It’s that 5%, that we have to be careful about. I heard very good comments about Lightroom, but I don’t have it. I am sure, you must be enjoying the extra help that you get from the software.

      Btw, I like your pictures.

      Thanks

  3. burstmode says:

    Do you shoot in JPEG or RAW?

Leave a Reply

